SHINee (Onew) Feat. 김연우(Kim Yun Woo) – 내가 사랑했던 그 이름 (The Name/NaeGa SaRangHaetDun Guh ERum/The Name That I Once Loved) Lyrics and Translation

shinee

Album: 2009, Year of Us. 3rd Mini Album
Release Date: October 19th, 2009
Notes:

How could they put this song after the banality that was “SHINee girl?”
Onew and the featuring vocalist Kim Yun Woo (who was a honorary member of late 90s pop band “Toy”) managed to squeeze a few tears from my shriveled up tear ducts.

Gems like this are why I listen to SHINee.

[column width="45%" padding="2%"]
Lyrics

손이 시려와
사랑의 기억이 차갑게 다가와 아려온다
이제는 더이상
너를 부정하고 싶지 않은 나를 알고 있지만
가까이 있는 널
사랑할 수 없는 걸 알고 있기에
날 바라볼 수 없는
널 기다림이 너무 힘들어
이젠 견딜 수 없어
이뤄질 수 없기에

내가 사랑했던 그 이름
불러 보려 나갈 수 록 너무 멀어졌던
그 이름 이제 적어놓고 난 울먹여
내 안에 숨고 싶어져
널 사랑할 수 밖에 없었던
그 날을 이젠 알아줘요
이룰 수 없는 사랑도 사랑 이니까

혼자 할 수 없는
사랑이란 느낌은 내게 다가와
시작 할 수도 없는
그리움들은 커져만 가고
시린 가슴 한 켠엔
너의 향기만 남아

내가 사랑했던 그 이름
불러 보려 나갈 수 록 너무 멀어졌던
그 이름 이제 적어놓고 나 울먹여
내 안에 숨고 싶어져
널 사랑할 수 밖에 없었던
그 날을 이제 알아줘요
이룰 수 없는 사랑도 사랑이니까

수천 번을 돌이켜
처음에 나로 갈 순간에
가슴 한 구석을
다 앗아갈 내 모습인걸

내가 사랑했던 그 이름
(내가 사랑했던)
불러 보려 나갈 수록 너무 멀어졌던
그 이름 이제 적어놓고 나 울먹여
내 안에 숨고 싶어져
널 사랑할 수 밖에 없었던
그 날을 이제 알아줘요
기를 수 없는 사랑도 사랑 이니까
[/column] [column width="53%" padding="0%"]
Translation

My hands are cold
Dimly, the cold memories of love gather.
I know that I no longer
want to impose my feelings on you.
Because I realize that I cannot love you
even though you are so close to me,
It’s too hard for me to be waiting
for someone that cannot be mine.
I can’t endure any longer
because it will never happen

The name that I once loved
travels further away as I call it,
I write down that name, holding back tears,
I want to hide it within myself.
Please understand the days
when I had no choice but to love you
A love that was never realized, is still love

The feeling of love,
which cannot be realized alone, draw near.
The yearning for this love I couldn’t even begin
only grows bigger,
and in a column of my chilled heart,
only your scent remains.

The name that I once loved
travels further away as I call it,
I write down that name, holding back tears,
I want to hide it within myself.
Please understand the days
when I had no choice but to love you
A love that was never realized, is still love

I turn it back a thousand times,
going back to the place I was.
Back before a portion of my heart
was snatched away from me

The name that I once loved
(That I loved)
travels further away as I call it,
I write down that name, holding back tears,
I want to hide it within myself.
Please understand the days
when I had no choice but to love you
Even a short love, is still love
[/column][end_columns]

This entry was posted in Lyrics and Translation, [L&T] and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to SHINee (Onew) Feat. 김연우(Kim Yun Woo) – 내가 사랑했던 그 이름 (The Name/NaeGa SaRangHaetDun Guh ERum/The Name That I Once Loved) Lyrics and Translation

  1. Carmen says:

    I AGREE. This is my favorite track, hands down! His sweet voice plus these moving lyrics just break my heart. Guh. I love this boy’s soothing vocals. *goes back to crying in a corner as the song replays*

    Also, thanks for the info about the featured singer. I knew there were parts that didn’t sound like him but I hadn’t had a change to look it up. Onew has to perform this live! He HAS to!

    • Grace says:

      Ohemgee. If he does you absolutely have to sub it and let me know when you do. I’m repeating this song over and over even though I have to translate ‘Get down”.

      Seriously, Onew’s voice makes me want to float off into the sky.

      • Carmen says:

        Girl, I will be on that faster than Key and eyeliner!
        Jonghyun got to sing his solo so I’m hopeful Onew will too. *crosses fingers*

        Can’t wait for “Get Down”! My Key bias ensured I died multiple times while listening to that. Only he could make “I’m a cool cat. Meow…” sound uber cool!

  2. ali says:

    I LOVE YOU FOR THIS!

    when i heard that jinki had a solo in this album, i was sold already. i knew that i HAD to get a copy (or two) of this album. then i heard the teaser & i was like, frothing at the mouth cos it was SO good! i’m so happy & proud of jinki! i know that he’s not really considered the lead vocal in shinee, but i SO prefer his voice cos it’s so gentle & like, almost fragile-like? GUH! IN FREAKING LOVE!

    oh & i saw someone comment that jinki’s voice didn’t seem good enough for a solo & i nearly stabbed her in the eye >_>

    i will thank God above if he performs this live omg omg omg i’m frothing at the mere possibility of it ;_;

  3. juna says:

    This is such a beautiful song <3 Thank you so much for translating it :)

  4. skylight says:

    thank you for this! It’s my favorite song in the mini album. I hope Onew performs this live.

  5. ilovekey says:

    woow.this song is soo beautiful .. THANKYOU FOR TRANSLATING THIS SONG!! :D

  6. honey says:

    woww..this song touches my heart every single time i listen to it..
    no doubt onew’s voice is just too sweet and warm that it melts my heart away.. ;p (lol..im so corny,i know..haha)

    i know everyone says jonghyun’s voice is really nice and i couldnt agree more but this song just suits onew’s voice..and he nailed it..BIG TIME..this song makes me wanna cry..the lyrics just remind me of someone..(haha..okayy..lets not get to that..lol)

    btw,thanks for the translation! a beautiful song with a beautiful meaning together with a beautiful voice that is as beautiful as the singer himself.. ;p hehe..

    *switches off the light,lay on bed,listens back to onew and cry*

  7. Narcissus says:

    I listened it more than 10,000 times, I really like it.

  8. Randall says:

    Woah… This song is great!

  9. Rose says:

    I just want to say that I Love Onew!

Leave a Reply

